Forsooth, ’tis a blog.

Hello.

My name is Joseph Rard. I love video games, manga, and music of nearly all sorts. Basically, on this blog, I plan to talk about all these things. The primary purpose of doing so is to build a body of work, practice my writing to hone my technique, promote particular creative works I’m interested in, and possibly even get my name out. Assuming I don’t procrastinate and actually post more than three things here, that is.

If all goes according to plan, I’ll be writing here my thoughts about what I read, play, and listen to. I’ll be writing about the projects I contribute to, collecting my thoughts on Japanese culture and translation in particular. I may even put personal stories and photos here, too.

As for me, I am a freelance Japanese/English translator. I’m graduating from San Francisco State University in December 2010 with a degree in Japanese. I’m 24 years old, single, and live with my parents. Ideally all three of those things will change before too long. I currently go by the aliases of djsquarewave (djsw) and Jotaro Raido (雷堂承太朗). I’ve also gone by numerous more-embarrassing names prior to these two, but I would rather leave them unsaid.

I’ve been involved with several internet-based projects. First and foremost, I’m an active top-50 contributor to the MobyGames game documentation project, mostly using my Japanese ability to contribute information for Japan-only games. I was also involved in another game database site called VG Rebirth, where I was an administrator and entered a significant amount of the information within entirely by hand. I was the co-founder and a primary contributor to the Sega Genesis/Megadrive music archive Project2612.

I’m also a sometimes-contrubitor to Game Developer Research Institute, providing technical-side work and Japanese translation for project coordinator CRV. He’s a real good sport for taking my lengthy disappearances in stride!

I suppose that’s all for now. Hopefully in the next day or two I’ll start having real content. As of right now I’m planning a few manga reviews and some preliminary thoughts on translation style, but those may or may not be the first things to go up. And now that I’ve written more than anyone cares to read, and scared off anyone stumbling here who doesn’t actually know me…see you soon!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Forsooth, ’tis a blog.

  1. Mormon Jesus says:

    Joseph Smiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiith

  2. Badguy says:

    I feel I should leave a business card after reading that.

  3. Mormon Jesus says:

    Does that mean all my future comments get auto-approved? Also buy a domain; they’s cheap.

  4. Badguy says:

    I’ll read it regularly, if only to be the one person with somewhat sensible comments!

Leave a Reply

